Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread:
general reflow and reball info.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

general reflow and reball info.

Well this thread was a roaring success on my previous home so i thought i should give it a shot here to
    I hope everyone into this kind of thing will add to it and share their experiences.

I will be starting it off with my process for reflowing and reballing using a Pu-Hui t8280 preheater and ayoue 968 hot air rework station.

it would be great if everyone shared their own setups and tips n tricks you have picked that only come from experience.
    I've been reworking consoles and laptops now for about 18 months and almost every bit of knowledge was gleamed from a similar thread and the few who were willing to share their own knowledge.

Flux

good flux is key in any bga rework and can make or break the work you do if its not up to the task. avoid any clear liquid flux's and ebay as its mostly just general flux watered down with isopropanol and is usually easily identified by the strong ipa smell it will give off but obviously you will have been ripped off by the time you find that out. i've ended up being sold 99%ipa as a flux thanks to the ebay ripoff merchants and a lack of knowledge when i started. i now only use insat RMA liquid super flux for most of my work though i do prefer the amtech 4300 flux for chip attach and cleaning up the old solder on the chip and board. a good flux will still be visible at the end of the reflow/reball proccess so if you see it all burn off before then you have most likely got an ipa watered down flux i'm afraid.