Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread:
Play PS2 Games on Your PS3

  1. #1
    Administrator
    News Hack
    stomp_442's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    5,871
    Thanked: 1458
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)

    Play PS2 Games on Your PS3


    CaptainCPS-X, of ps3hax, has posted a guide of how to convert any PS2 ISO to PS2 Classics format to be playable on PS3 CFW. This is great news for those of us that do not have backwards compatible PS3.

    Note: This guide will have technical details to a minimum, to avoid confusion. But, assumes that the user knows how to install PKG files on the PS3, and how to transfer files to the internal hard disk drive of the PS3 console.

    In this guide you will learn how to convert PS2 games in ISO format to PS2 Classic, making any game playable on your PS3 console.

    :: FUTURE UPDATES

    Since I understand that even when things have been simplifying in the recent days, it can be tedious to be moving, replacing, copying ISO files over the USRDIR of the PS2 Classics Placeholder. So, I have a proposed a PS3 homebrew application that when finished will allow the users to browse a list of PS2 ISOs located on your Internal / External hard disk drive and from there with a simple press of a button automatically do the moving / renaming process, so you can go back to XMB and play the game selected.

    The good thing about doing this kind of application, is that it can be made to display game covers, information, etc as well. So at the end we would have a very organized list of our PS2 backups.

    The development of this application will be done mostly on weekends when I have the most free time. On week days I have university so I will not be able to work a lot on it, maybe add small modules and pieces of code.

    So keep using PS2 Classics Placeholder for a while, and most of all, enjoy playing PS2 on your PS3!!!
    source - http://www.ps3hax.net/showthread.php?t=53694
    Last edited by stomp_442; 03-21-2013 at 06:05 PM.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to stomp_442 For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Supreme Overlord
    Administrator
    JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Behind you!
    Posts
    7,895
    Thanked: 1542
    Blog Entries
    10
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    This is sweet. I didn't think it was possible.
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
    (")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

  4. #3
    Founding Member peire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    england,liverpool
    Posts
    2,132
    Thanked: 589
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    I have a 60gb ps3 re modded it the other day...

    Sent from my samsung galaxy note 2 using tapatalk 2

  5. #4
    Supreme Overlord
    Administrator
    JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Behind you!
    Posts
    7,895
    Thanked: 1542
    Blog Entries
    10
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Can a PS3 with CFW use PSN?
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
    (")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

  6. #5
    HacksDen Staff
    Moderator
    RobGee789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4,718
    Thanked: 1663
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JoostinOnline View Post
    Can a PS3 with CFW use PSN?
    yes it can mate i play crysis 3 online

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk HD
    Need any gfx making HERE is where to ask

  7. #6
    Supreme Overlord
    Administrator
    JoostinOnline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Behind you!
    Posts
    7,895
    Thanked: 1542
    Blog Entries
    10
    Mentioned
    14 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RobGee789 View Post
    yes it can mate i play crysis 3 online

    Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk HD
    Can you mod your PS3 on the latest firmware, or is there some fixed vulnerability?
    "Macs are the Perfect Computers," said the Perfect Idiot.

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
    (")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

  8. #7
    Founding Member peire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    england,liverpool
    Posts
    2,132
    Thanked: 589
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Modded it on 3.55 and installed the 4.40 spoof for psn access

    Sent from my samsung galaxy note 2 using tapatalk 2

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to peire For This Useful Post:


  10. #8
    HacksDen Staff
    Moderator
    RobGee789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4,718
    Thanked: 1663
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    the ps3 nees to be on 3.55 or lower to run a cfw and the new rebug cfw's will spoof to allow psn access, im running rebux 4.21.2 rex edition but i might update to 4.30.2 rex just because i can lol
    Need any gfx making HERE is where to ask

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to RobGee789 For This Useful Post:


  12. #9
    Administrator
    News Hack
    stomp_442's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    5,871
    Thanked: 1458
    Blog Entries
    3
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by JoostinOnline View Post
    Can you mod your PS3 on the latest firmware, or is there some fixed vulnerability?
    Phats and some slims can be downgraded to 3.55 as long as they started out new with 3.55 or lower firmware, some slims (and the new super slim) cannot be downgraded due to the hardware. so if you found an older slim or a phat, then it could be downgraded via hardware, more than likely you would have to pay somebody to do it.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •